About Project:

PLACE :Miyazaki Prefectural Art Museum, Japan

Title : Triloka (Three Realms)

Description : The cosmology manuscript of Sundanese culture divides world into three: bumi sangkala (real world), buana niskala (supernatural world) and buana jatiniskala (absolute great supernatural world). Bumi sangkala - a real world for creatures with body (physical) and soul (spiritual), such as human, animal, plant and other visible things, either moving or not. Buana niskala - a supernatural world for metaphysical beings which forms are only reflected in humans' imagination such as gods, angels and apsaras (female spirit of the clouds and waters in Hindu and Buddhist culture). The beings are numerous, various and able to merge each other. Some of them also have higher degree than humans. Buana jatiniskala - other words for heaven and hell.

Posted on:

April 1, 2019